This is my Social Sabbatical reloaded… Buenos Dias Argentina!

Kim Maren Ekrutt
SAP Social Sabbatical
3 min readMay 13, 2022

Hi, as I am starting new on this platform I would like to introduce myself with some words. I am Kim, turned 40 lately born and based in beautiful Hamburg, Northern Germany.

This sounds pretty old to be honest but I truly believe is, the best is always yet to come and this is why I am more than grateful that finally after 2 years of patiently waiting to jump into my big adventure of SAP #socialsabbatical in Argentinia finally.

View from the SAP Office

The SAP Social Sabbatical was one check mark on my career bucket list. Originally, I was supposed to go to Mauritius in April of 2020 but it was cancelled when the pandemic hit the world. Two years of waiting, being mentor of “Herzretter Initiative” in Hamburg and hoping for a restart. In March 2022 my wish came true when Hemang Desai reached out to me.

Now already almost the first week is finished and I feel refuelled and more energized than ever. Arriving very early in the morning on Saturday, meeting all the people sharing same values and purpose pushed us directly in this incredibly experience.

Having fun is the best part of it — Hemang Desai, am I right?

I have the honour to work with my two colleagues Varun Thomba (from India) and Csaba Huszar (from Hungary) with the social enterprise Unplastify. Unplastify strong believes is, that human need to change their relationship and usage of plastic instead of just recycling it. They create challenges to involve people over different areas to create impact and to create more awareness and mindfulness in usage of plastic. Only if we avoid the usage of single use plastic and create new habits we really have the chance to stop the pollution with this long durable material.

Getting curious? Please have a look at their webpage to learn more about it: https://www.unplastify.com/english

Now we have three more weeks to bring our skills to the table and support Unplastify to measure the unmeasurable: how the change of habits lowers the plastic waste of individuals and communities. So proud to work with you and support you the world run better!

--

--