Together We Rise: SAP Social Sabbatical 2023

Laura Zimmermann
SAP Social Sabbatical
4 min readApr 24, 2023

I am part of this years SAP Social Sabbatical program and will take you with me on my professional and personal journey during this exciting 4 weeks experience.

I was thrilled when I received the email several months ago that I am part of the SAP Social Sabbatical program. I waited and hoped for weeks and suddenly it had become real! With my acceptance email I also immediately got to know my host country: Vietnam.

The first images in my head were food, amazing landscape, rich culture, open and friendly people. It really felt like the perfect destination for this kind of experience.

But what exactly is the SAP Social Sabbatical programme? It as an offer from SAP in collaboration with Pyxera Global and it is part of a leadership development program. Together with 12 colleagues you embark on a journey to a host country and host organisation for 4 weeks in total. In country you are part of a smaller team assigned to one NGO or social enterprise, supporting them along their journey and their very individual business needs and challenges. In just a week’s time, my colleagues from all over the world and me will meet physically for the first time in Hanoi, each bringing their unique set of skills and experiences to the table.

Our mission is to empower organisations to develop and implement sustainable business practices that create positive social and environmental outcomes through collaboration, education, and engagement.​ Our goal is to work with our organisations to create tangible impact that helps them achieve their objectives, positively influencing the lives of the communities they serve for years to come.

My subteam and me will act as pro bono consultants for a social enterprise in the sustainable fashion business located in Hanoi, Vietnam, where we contribute our expertise towards making a positive impact on the local handicraft community and strengthen the overall cultural voice of the ethnic minorities of North Vietnam.

As someone who’s passionate about sustainable fashion and its potential to make a difference in the world, I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to work with this organisation. I believe that through our collective efforts, we can help them achieve their goals and make a meaningful impact on the community.

Of course, I must admit that I’m also a bit overwhelmed at the prospect of contributing to a new and unfamiliar environment. As someone who’s never been to Vietnam before, I’m curious and excited about what I’ll experience there. But I’m also a bit nervous about how I’ll adapt to the culture, the way of doing things, and the language barriers.

Nevertheless, I’m trying to stay positive and focused on the opportunity to learn and grow. I believe that the challenges we’ll face as a team will ultimately help us develop new skills, expand our horizons, and become better professionals.

One thing that I’ve learned already so far is the importance of establishing a good energy within the team even before we set foot in Vietnam. We’ve been in contact online, getting to know each other, and preparing for the challenges that lie ahead. This early bonding has already created a sense of camaraderie and support that I know will be essential during the program.

I’m also excited about the opportunity to immerse myself completely in the local culture. From the cuisine to the traditions to the people we’ll meet, I’m eager to learn and experience everything Vietnam has to offer.

I look forward to participating in the SAP Social Sabbatical program, I’m filled with excitement, anticipation, and a bit of nervousness. But I believe that with a positive attitude, a supportive team, and a willingness to learn and grow, we can make a meaningful impact on the community and have a transformational experience as individuals.

I will take you with me on my professional and personal journey throughout these next 4 weeks, so stay tuned!

#SAP, #SocialSabbatical, #SAP4Good

--

--