Twelve in Hyderabad

Svetlana Zolotareva
SAP Social Sabbatical
2 min readFeb 14, 2019

This will be a story of my Social Sabbatical in Hyderabad, India. As you have probably read some of the blogs from my teammates, I won’t go into the details about what SAP Social Sabbatical for global engagement is all about. Instead, let me tell you what I’ve been experiencing on this assignment.

First things first…

I wasn’t thrilled to be assigned to India, but India was pretty excited about me. As a gift, I got a wonderful team of 12 colleagues (including myself), big-hearted coordinators from PYXERA Global, and our mentor who make this trip very special. Diverse and engaging, intelligent and funny, supportive and surprising, this team was love at first sight. And though we’re split into sub-teams, all twelve of us interact on an everyday basis, sharing the knowledge, expertise, and some of the meals.

Part of the twelve

Another gift was an NGO that I was assigned to, CHORD, led by Suman and Manjulatha Malladi.

The role of my sub-team in the project is to consult CHORD on marketing and branding as well as fundraising strategy, scaling up, and roadmap. These deliverables are my personal challenge and a learning, as never in my everyday work I collaborate with NGOs, and even less I know about business consulting. Be as it may, the challenge was accepted.

After a week and a half, I can feel that my horizon didn’t just expand, it exploded. Big time. The Social Sabbatical program proves to be eye-opening, mind-blowing, and many other hyphenated adjectives you can think of. So, stay tuned for further details, and enjoy glimpses of Hyderabad in the meanwhile.

--

--