Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Vietnam, there we go!

Social Sabbatical in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Felipe Grandi Santos
2 min readMar 29, 2017

--

Here we go! This Thursday all the adventure begins, taking me to a Social Sabbatical in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.

The first questions I get from my friends are around what I’m going to do there and what the sabbatical is about. So first of all, context!

The Social Sabbatical is a short-term assignment for professionals who work in highly diverse, international teams to solve business challenges for the education and social entrepreneurship sector in emerging markets, while strengthening their leadership competencies, cross industry sector know-how and intercultural sensitivity. SAP, the company I proudly work for, sponsors the projects that are driven by Pyxera Global, this great organization that look for global engagement opportunities to improve people’s lives. Social Sabbatical is my once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to turn SAP’s vision “help the world run better and improve people’s lives” into action from a social responsibility perspective.

Along the month of April I and two more colleagues will be working with Teach for Vietnam, an organization which aims to bring equitable, relevant and excellent education to all children in Vietnam by inspiring leadership skills and mindset in both students and teachers to prepare them for the 21st century. This is a great opportunity to help improving the education in Vietnam which will reflect on the generations to come.

For me the whole experience sounds like to move the box up and down with me inside. It will be my first time in Asia, my first time working with education, in such an event with potential to change my life forever. In a positive way! And I hope that I will be good enough to give it back for Vietnamese people through my work.

See you soon!

--

--

Felipe Grandi Santos

World is my home. If I’m bored, that’s because I’m too comfy and need to shake things up to feel better. In the “leisure time” I work at SAP.