I Quit Talking About Growth

Teisha LeShea
Sapphire Express
Published in
3 min readFeb 6, 2023

--

Time for a break

Photo by Kara Peak on Unsplash

I read a great article by Courtney on quitting and the empowerment it brings. It’s ok to take a break or completely stop with no explanation. After reading her piece, I sat back and pondered on what I wanted to quit nothing came to mind, so I paused on the thought and continued my day; as I was doing my nighttime routine, I listened to an interview with Andre 3000 from the rap group OutKast and American music producer Rick Rubin.

They spoke about social anxiety, therapy, and, most importantly, creativity, hearing the six-time Grammy award winner Andre 3000 doesn’t have the confidence to make music left me in shock. All creatives have some imposter syndrome; you heard it in Andre 3000’s speech throughout that interview. Someone on all rappers’ top five list as one of the best lyricists throughout rap history doesn’t have the confidence to create a song. Rick would counter his thought with an idea, and a few moments later, Andre would find the clarity he needed to try something different.

No matter the age, you will always be a student of life; that’s how we learn; of course, you get those individuals who enjoy hearing themselves talk and miss the lesson entirely, but that topic is for another day when the interview is over, the question I asked myself earlier made its second appearance I immediately grabbed my laptop which leads…

--

--