24 Hours

Yohanes Sitanggang
Sapu Lidi
Published in
2 min readDec 1, 2017

I don’t like waking up. Between the sunlight and the cold air of my dark bedroom and my comfortable comfortable, while knowing nothing out there can comfort me better. Why do we have to wake up?

I mean why should you wake up when you have to face your responsibilities? The paper you have to write, the math you have to do in deciding whether or not you should buy Chick-Fil-A, all the people you have listen to and respond?

THE PEOPLE!

The people you have to reason with, even though they’re not reasoning with themselves. The jokes that you have to laugh to even though it’s offensive to you, worse, it’s not funny at all. All the figures that you look up to and hearing news that they have done some type of sexual harassment.The expectations that people have against you that you know isn’t reasonable. Even worse, I urge to think that they can change — if they really wanted to, if only they weren’t so mean.

So why do we have to wake up and face all this?

I mean there are some days when I wake up fresh. I open my eyes and just like that, they day is over again.

There are days where I open my eyes and have the urge to get on with my day.

There are days when I look forward to meet my friends ask my professor a question.

But this morning, I realized that I have the obligation to write an article on this Medium page. So I did.

Yeah, I have the faintest idea of what I wanted to talk about, but I just have to write. Maybe tomorrow will be better.

I have the faintest idea of what I’m going to do today, but I just have to wake up. Maybe, tomorrow will be better.

--

--