A Thank You Note

Sonia Arumdati Purba
Sapu Lidi
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2017

Hi. First of all, sorry for being MIA. My parents were here and since I won’t be spending Christmas with them, I basically crammed all quality time we could have. So let’s get right to it.

When you write a thesis for your degree completion, you’re supposed to write an Acknowledgement section. I didn’t like mine. It was too formal and to be frank, not all people I want to say thank you are in that page.

So I’m taking advantage of this week’s medium “Free Writing” theme to do a proper thank you note for these people.

To Artur, my mentor. We met on my first week in January 2016. You transferred to UT from A&M and I learned that we’re in the same research group. Later I learned that you are an amazing researcher, mentor, and friend. Your patience and resilience have been inspiring and I learned a great deal from you. I pray only for your success and happiness.

To Meagin Goff, my sister in Christ. Thank you for sharing your life story with me and for listening to mine. Thank you for praying with me when I was scared of facing my reality. Thank you for the advice you shared and compassion you showed. I pray that you’ll love your new home there and I believe you will always do good and spread God’s love.

To Stephanie Adeline and Timothy Bryan. Thank you for sharing your ice coffee at Starbucks whenever we study there. Thank you for the midnight chat about our Indonesian organization. Thank you Tim, for being there with me when I made a stupid mistake and missed that interview. Thank you Steph, for crying and praying with me when I was desperate in finishing my degree. I pray that you both will find your true passion and continue pursue your dreams. I pray that you both will have a rock solid faith in Jesus Christ and persistence in your ordeals.

To Yohanes Sitanggang, my person. Thank you for your patience. Thank you for praying with and for me. Thank you for constantly asking the right questions and accepting me afterwards. Thank you for reminding me that God is never late. If He says I’m graduating, then I am graduating. Your faith is inspiring and I hope that one day I’ll be as faithful as you.

And finally, thank you mom and dad. I wasn’t a devoted kid. I wouldn’t return your calls, reply your texts, and when I do, it was just me blowing of steam and frustration. I wouldn’t be who I am today without you. I love you, now and always.

I am lucky to have these people in my life and I became a better person because of them. Words can’t convey how grateful I am.

So, thank you.

With love,

Sonia Arumdati Purba

--

--