Fron: 5-year plan

Building Artificial Intelligence, Living in NYC, and Find somebody to love.

Fahran Kamili
Sapu Lidi
2 min readNov 20, 2017

--

I hope within 5 years these things are precisely what I’ll experience.

On Artificial Intelligence

Why do I want to do it?

“Because we can’t cure stupidity but we can create super intelligence to offset that.”
- Ardy Kamdani

I think my friend Ardy summarize why I want to work on AI.
There are so many human decisions that are made on top of false/wrong assumptions that lead to a bad outcome. I do think that AI can maximally utilize the computing power that a computer has to guide humans to reach a better outcome.

I want to be part of the class of people that build these AI because, well, who doesn’t? I am one of the lucky ones who are well equipped with the right education that is able to learn, understand, and create useful utilization of AI.

I would say I am still in my infancy in terms of AI knowledge, but I am learning it every day and I don’t see it will stop anytime soon. Hopefully, for the next 5 years, I am still continuously learning and keeps getting better and thus will put me in a place where I can make a powerful impact on humanity through Artificial Intelligence.

On living in NYC

Struggling, that’s one word that comes up in my mind every time I think about New York.

There is something sexy about struggling in NYC.

After spending some time in NYC last year, I get this idea that everyone there is struggling in the best way possible. Each of them seems to have their own dream and goal that they want to achieve and they understand that striving to achieve something in the face of difficulty or resistance, or in other words struggling, is necessary. It’s almost obvious that in order to achieve success one must expect some kind of resistance. But NYC somehow makes it obvious to me that when faced with resistance you have to look at it in the face and keep marching forward with passion and focus.

I hope in 5 years I will be struggling in NYC while marching forward to achieve my hopes and dreams.

On finding somebody to love

Honestly, I don’t really know what I want from a partner. But I hope within 5 years I will have somebody where I can share my life story with while that somebody being an important part of the story itself.

--

--

Fahran Kamili
Sapu Lidi

A newbie writer. Interested in Tech, Politics, and Startup.