On being naive

Fahran Kamili
Sapu Lidi
Published in
1 min readJan 23, 2018

I used to be naive.

I used to believe that my understanding of complex issues of the world: distribution of wealth, climate change, immigration, race etc is sufficient to the point that I can make a useful and true judgment of the issue.

Looking back I found that more often than not, I usually see a problem with a rather simplistic, one-dimensional, and using too naive of a principle.

I don’t think I am close-minded. I always try my best to educate my self from a lot different angle, reading books written by people that are way smarter than me, reading books by people that are way smarter than me AND have opposing belief with me, watching lectures in Youtube both from left-leaning and right-leaning etcetera.

But I don’t think I am open minded enough and have the humility to acknowledge that, in the grand scheme of things, I don’t know shit.

Starting from today, I will be more mindful when forming and sharing my opinion.

(I am motivated to write this short writing because of this video)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8x3hFZx1_VU

--

--

Fahran Kamili
Sapu Lidi

A newbie writer. Interested in Tech, Politics, and Startup.