The Layover

Sonia Arumdati Purba
Sapu Lidi
Published in
3 min readMar 15, 2019

Written on some time around January 2018 and Mar 15th 2019.

For the first time in my life, I experienced Christmas and New Year without my family. Granted, my parents came for my masters graduation commencement this December but they just spent less than a week in Austin. I was a bit nervous at first, intimidated with the fact that I won’t be with my mom and dad for Christmas.

My family loved to have a night or day in after Christmas service at church. We would cook or order some food (unlike in the States, people in Indonesia don’t really celebrate Christmas so restaurants would be open — reason why is a separate story). For the New Year we used to celebrate at my uncle’s place. I would play Call of Duty with my brother, cousins, and my uncles while my parents and grandparents watch or just chill. Of course we would go to the New Year’s church service, can’t forget about that.

My Brother and My Dad. I don’t know what happened prior to this picture. This definitely wasn’t remotely close to any church service.

But I didn’t go home for Christmas. I thought since I’m leaving the states for good, I should savor my last days in Austin and or some other place in the US. “It’s your funeral”, as my friend would say. And so I did. I spent a lot of time with my boyfriend’s family, traveled to Colorado and New Mexico together, and spent Christmas with them too. So, for a second there, it kinda felt like home?

Me, Yohanes, Tante Sonta, and Om Kastoni in front of the Boulder Public Library in Colorado. It was pretty cold.

And then of course, I spent time with my Indo-Austinites. It pretty much went as if nothing will change. We would eat out somewhere, chill at a coffee shop (not like the kind in Amsterdam), and crack up some jokes to make fun each other. Well, actually. Somehow I feel like my friends kept on insisting that I pick the places we go to. I wonder why.

Saturday, 6th January 2018. Last morning in Austin, TX.

And now here I am (was?). In Narita Airport, Japan. Waiting for my final flight home to Jakarta. And I will be starting a new job next week. Something that is (almost) completely different than what I study for the past 6 years. (some update on that soon)

Change is inevitable so resistance is futile. We create an illusion for ourselves, by saying “it’ll stay the same, you and I!” or “we’ll Facetime you every other day” and “I’ll never forget this”. Well guess what, it did change, and you didn’t call me, and I did forget. And that is okay.

Rule 3 of Jordan Peterson’s ’12 Rules for Life’ : Make Friends with People Who Want the Best For You.

And shout out to these people in this post. They certainly do want the best for me.

--

--