My lesson learn with Web IDE & ABAP system transport

Victor Ho
SAPUI5 best pratices
1 min readMay 21, 2019

I’ve got a serious issue today because of working on multiple projects & not careful deployment.

Background:

I join 2 project:

  • Project A: Developing. Not allowed to move to Q (test system)
  • Project B: Testing. Transport everyday from D (Development) to Q (test)

Incident:

The developing code in project A suddenly on Q, affecting the working version of it.

Reason

  • I’ve accidentally pick wrong TR to deploy in Web IDE. Part of the reason is that my user didn’t got added to the TR. Which make me copy & paste the new TR into the deployment dialog but it’s not correct. (maybe the CTRL+C to copy TR on may laptop does not work correctly
  • The code base of mine has been overridden by other developer, making the app name (in ABAP system) the old name, which is not allowed.

Solution

Transport the original app with a new TR, using the same O3 attribute with the mistakenly released TR.

--

--

Victor Ho
SAPUI5 best pratices

Utilize technology to help people have better life.