Photo Essay: Rome, you classic, mysterious beauty, you!

This Sara Noori
Digital. Interactive. Storytelling.
3 min readApr 4, 2018

Italian cinema has been in my life ever since I remember. I remember being glued to the TV watching Michele Placido in La Piovra fight alone against the Italian Mafia.

I laughed at Ornella Muti and Andreano Celentano in Il bisbetico domato about a grumpy farmer and an uptight city girl.

I was in awe of Sophia Loren’s timeless beauty as a nanny in Houseboat.

I was nostalgic when watching Fellini’s La Dolce Vita about Rome nightlife and its elite, and its non-sequel sequel The Great Beauty.

These are movies that I can watch over and over again.

Rome is a city that I can visit over and over again.

Rome is as mysterious and as classic as I had always imagined it. Its ancient history is astonishing but so is its mystery. I have never been to a city that is at the same time mysterious and vibrant. Rome is a cosmopolitan city as it is a time warp. A true classic beauty.

Just like Italian cinema, I could watch Rome over and over again.

--

--

This Sara Noori
Digital. Interactive. Storytelling.

I am a Digital and Interactive Storytelling LAB MA student at the University of Westminster in London, UK.