A letter of intent…

Sarah Mendez
Sarah Mendez’s Portfolio
3 min readMay 11, 2021
Photo by Aleksander Vlad on Unsplash

Hello,

My name is Sarah Mendez and I am a UX/UI Front-end Web Developer. I first got my start in design when pursuing my Associate’s Degree at Salt Lake Community College. I decided to choose a major for my Associate’s and I decided to dive headfirst into graphic design. It was there that I learned design theory and many digital media concepts and designing for digital products as well as print. I became fluent in Adobe Indesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, and Premier. This is also where I was reintroduced to coding with a entry level web development class in HTML & CSS. It sparked many feelings as I had originally started coding layouts for Myspace when I was in jr. high. It had never dawned on me that I could go down this route as a career path. After I took the class I realized that I obsessed and excited by learning to code. I realized that I enjoyed the freedom to be both logical and creative and marveled over the intersection between the two. I felt like this was an area of study that I could not only excel in, but be passionate about. I decided to start weighing my options for how to study web development.

Shortly after I graduated with my Associate’s Degree in Graphic Design, I transferred to the Utah Valley University and began majoring in web & app development with a minor in computer science. I also got a job teaching UX/UI design and entry level web development at the University of Utah’s Bootcamp which has helped me explain technical concepts to people with little to no technical background.

I have also worked at a local company called Interweave Solutions based out of Provo, Utah. At Interweave Solutions I worked on a team of one. I was tasked with many responsibilities, but the overarching goal was to update their website to a more modern feel. I was able to work on Legacy Code and understand what happens when you don’t take content management seriously from the beginning. It was an amazing experience that taught me so many things about working in a Content Management System, but what stuck out the most was this:

I want to work on a team. I enjoy collaboration and problem solving in a group. It can be hard to move forward when there is no other developers to bounce ideas off of or strategize. Also it taught me alot about how Design and Development are intertwined, but also that both are very separate processes that aren’t always best done by the same person, at the same time, in a small time frame. Each area deserves ample time and attention to get it right.

I have enjoyed both of these opportunities as they have helped me to define what it is that I want for my future. I was able to draw from my academic and professional experiences when deciding upon what goals I am wanting to work towards.

Current Goals:

  • Learn more about React.js and develop my skills in this niche category to become more employable and add value to my skill sets.
  • Push to Github at least 5 times a week to keep my activity up.
  • Develop a nightly learning ritual where I explore topics that I feel weak in.
  • Read a development book 15 minutes a night before bed.
  • Start contributing to an open source project.

Entry Level Career Goal:

I would like to be hired on as a jr. front-end engineer for a company that produces software. I would like to work on a team and learn from others around me. My ideal work environment would be encouraging, with room to make mistakes, learn from said mistakes, and grow. Pair programming would be practiced and I would be paired with someone who is a mid-senior level developer.

Long Term Career Goal:

Long term I would love to be able to work remotely. I would like to be in a position of management or in a senior development role. I would like to oversee projects and plan how to get from point a to point b. Ideally I would be experienced enough to mentor others and help encourage people to grow and help them reach their personal and professional aspirations.

--

--

Sarah Mendez
Sarah Mendez’s Portfolio

I'm a Front-End Engineer based in Salt Lake City Utah with a background in graphic design, User Experience Design, and User Interface Design.