More Wonders of the Island

Mataja’s Adventure

On a lovely Monday morning, we were given these wonderful experiences of Balinese ceremonies. I was taken aback to these ceremonies and what they entailed. Water was a big part of these ceremonies, and it was amazing. The fragrant odor of flowers and incense brought you to another place in your mind. You were more than just in paradise, but you were being welcomed into this complex culture with, frankly, not much knowledge of what was going on or what was happening next. I think the unknown future was what made me more excited. We don’t know what these temples look like or what kind of experiences we would have at them.

The first temple brought not only wonder, but also some scary moments. Within this calm temple, lived many, many, MANY monkeys. It just reminded me of how even when we try and focus on what we want, there are always monkeys trying to steal your flowers to eat. Or something of that sort. Clearing your mind is extremely hard to do, but it seemed easier to concentrate at these ceremonies, except for the monkeys that were present. Those rascals were cheeky. I appreciated the work that was put into the offerings and the temples caregivers’ direction and guidance. The colors were also what interested me the most and gave me ideas for my next piece of art.

The colors during the ceremony and many of they symbols that were represented in the ceremonies, will guide my adventure paintings and help the story along. The yellows that were represented in the morning’s ceremony, and the wonderful oranges, pinks, and greens that were also present. The feeling of excitement and wonder by seeing these wonderful colors that were part of these symbols that brought you to your center, and made us into this community; this community of cleansing and knowledge that is growing each day to the wonders of this island. There is still much to see and experience of this culture. I hope we have enough time.

--

--