Nearing the end

Island of Lembongan— a wonderful place to just be

Over the past three weeks, I have been absolutely loving my experience here in Bali. Meeting wonderful people, eating delicious food, seeing beautiful rice terraces, oceans, and mountains. All of this has been a part of developing my final project on Bali as a place to heal. A lot of the temples we went to and ceremonies we participated in were very clearly stated to be for cleansing, and I appreciated the willingness of the Balinese people to share that with us. However, I have found the most healing aspect of this trip was experiencing the closeness of the Balinese people to the earth. How they know exactly where their food comes from. How they treat the earth with respect. How they thank the other world for providing them with what they need from the earth. When arriving in Bali, I wasn’t sure what I’d find, or how specifically I needed to heal. I believe that experiencing the culture here has taught me a lot about myself and what aspects of my life in America I need to mend. By taking a step back, swallowing a little pride and holding up a flag of humility, I was able to let Bali teach me how I needed to heal.

--

--