The Journey to Bali, Indonesia

My Experiences, Adventures, and Wonders

It was a rough 30-some-hours, but we made it and I have to say it was seriously worth it. The sights were interesting to experience but the smells of Bali were what surprised me the most. It was so aromatic and lush that I could not stop smelling the air as we stepped outside. I was across the world, and it finally hit me once we got to the Pantai Mas hotel. During the beginning, I noticed the difference between what I’ve seen in photos and reality. The wonder was still present but now it became a concerned wonder about the country we were visiting. I am still soaking it up and ready for more adventures. We were given coconut milk and presented with wonderful Balinese foods at the end of our travels. The tire from the travel weighed heavy on our shoulders, but it was wonderful to know we were in good hands.

I am taking an art course in Bali, which will focus on spirituality, art, and their culture. I decided to focus on the symbols that are evident in their culture and the colors they use with these symbols. I want to use nature and some of their ingredients in their foods for my paintings to really help grasp their culture and create a wonderful story through my art. I will be using watercolor to create these paintings, and to be honest, I am quite excited to use my favorite media to illustrate my time in Bali. Sadly, I can’t post my art just yet but I have already started some creations and I’m excited to show them off once I am able.

My first painting will include an image of a Buddha statue that sits near the pool at our hotel and the colors that surround this statue. The tranquility was what attracted me the most, but it did cause a burn on my back and I regret nothing.

--

--