2018`s Designer Goals

Sati Taschiba
Sati Taschiba • Blog
3 min readJan 25, 2018

Setting goals is the first step in turning the invisible into the visible. (Tony Robbins)

I want to tell why I need to set goals. I cannot say that I don’t think about the future, but it so happened that I never bothered myself with the idea of setting goals. Life just went its way, like many of my peers.

Recently I’ve read the book by Brian Tracy “Eat That Frog! 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time.” (I strongly recommend this book for those who wants to improve their efficiency). I also decided to make my plan for 2018 after I’ve read the book and not to miss this year as I did on the previous :).

The book is about how to be efficient in work. To always keep efficient methods in front of my eyes I list them here. As a bonus, I tell you about a plan for the 2018 year that I made.

  1. Learn from those who could work better than you. Discover what they do for it and do likewise.
  2. Decide exactly what you want and a how to achieve your goals.
  3. Set deadlines on your goals to add power to them. Without indicating when work needs to be done, you will naturally pull it aside and do very little.
  4. Make a list of all tools and actions that, in your opinion, will be needed to achieve the goal.
  5. Turn the list into a plan. To do this, you need to arrange all the points by the priority and execution sequence.
  6. Follow the plan daily, and every day make steps that gets you closer to the primary goal.

Goals are the fuel in the furnace of achievement. The larger your goals and the clearer they are, the more you become about achieving them. The more you think about your goals, the greater your inner drive and desire for accomplish them.

To simplify an article, I show my goals without timelines here.

Let’s go! My plan for 2018, codenamed “Gravity”:

Overall

  1. Read 1–2 professional books per month.
  2. Write 1–2 articles on Medium per month.
  3. Find a new job.
  4. Improve my English writing and verbal skills.
  5. Make a new redesign case.

Professional literature

  1. «Steve Jobs» Walter Isaacson
  2. «The Power of Story. Change Your Story, Change Your Destiny in Business and in Life.» Loehr Jim
  3. «Objects of Desire: Design and Society Since.» Adrian Forty
  4. «Diary of a Maniac Designer» Yana Frank
  5. «By Design» Ralph Caplan
  6. «Пиши, сокращай» Максима Ильяхова и Людмилы Сарычевой
  7. «Design is a job» Monteiro Mike
  8. «Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time» Jeff Sutherland
  9. «Номер 1» Игоря Манна
  10. «Getting Things Done. The Art of Stress-Free Productivity» Allen David
  11. «Inside Art Direction: Interviews and Case Studies» Steven Brower
  12. «Think Small. The Surprisingly Simple Ways to Reach Big Goals» Owain Service and Rory Gallagher
  13. «How the Best Leaders Lead: Proven Secrets to Getting the Most Out of Yourself and Others» Brian Tracy
  14. «Never Eat Alone. And Other Secrets to Success, One Relationship at a Time» Ferrazzi Keith and Raz Thal
  15. «Talking to Crazy: How to Deal with the Irrational and Impossible People in Your Life» Mark Goulston
  16. «Yes!: 50 Scientifically Proven Ways to Be Persuasive» Robert B. Cialdini, Noah J. Goldstein and Steve J. Martin
  17. https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/1491912685/ref=mp_s_a_1_fkmr1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1519327675&sr=8-1-fkmr1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=Ux+design+exercises
  18. https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/1977000428/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1519327675&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=Ux+design+exercises&dpPl=1&dpID=41GFZfsXYsL&ref=plSrch

Complete online courses

  1. Introduction to UI Design by University of Minnesota
  2. - UX Design

Take part in

  1. Russian Design Cup 2018
  2. Red Dot Awards 2018
  3. Awwwards.com Jury 2018
  4. Award.kz Jury 2018

Articles that I want to write about

  1. Designer`s Check-list before submitting to frontend developers
  2. My interview experience with the companies
  3. Redesign of Wargaming`s Common Menu · Part 1 · Part 2
  4. How to become a web-designer (Advise to novice designer)
  5. Secret article O… (if I will accomplish it at this year)
  6. Short reviews of the books that I will read in 2018

Thanks for the 50 clap 👏🏻 if you enjoyed this article. This will tell me to write more of it! Also leave your valuable feedbacks to improve

You also can connect with me on Behance and LinkedIn.
And don`t forget to follow me so that you will not miss my next article.

--

--