2 — Tis’ the Season

December 23rd, 2023

Harry Malapetsas
Saturday Sum Up
4 min readDec 24, 2023

--

german shepherd
Meet Jasper our German Shepherd

I always love this time of year for several reasons. Most importantly, my birthday is at the beginning of December, so I always get excited about that. There are plenty of people out and about getting their holiday shopping done, and I love to see people in good spirits. I also enjoy all of the decorations and lights on the buildings and houses in town. In addition, the Holiday season is a great time to visit with family and loved ones. It’s also a great time to give back to your community however you can.

To add to the Holiday cheer, December is a great time to reflect on this year’s wins and losses. So many exciting things have happened in 2023. I’d like to share my list of questions that I journal and reflect on at the end of every year:

  • What were my highlights of the year? (Personal and Business)
  • What were my biggest challenges and how did I handle them?
  • What did I learn about myself this year?
  • What goals did I achieve, and which ones are still in progress?
  • What do I need to let go of this year?
  • How have I grown? (Personal and Professional)

Here are a few of my answers below:

What were my highlights of the year?

Personal

  • Moved to Delaware
  • My girlfriend and I rescued and adopted a dog (his name is Jasper)
  • Got back into a gym routine

Professional

  • Sold my food truck to focus on Real Estate consulting
  • Studied for the DE Real Estate Exam (Testing in early January)
  • Successfully helped my clients purchase homes
  • Helped a few landlords rent their vacant apartments
  • Started building my presence online!

What were my biggest challenges and how did I handle them?

Time management was a big one for me. The food truck took a lot of my time and energy. Therefore, I wasn’t able to help as many families purchase homes as I originally planned. I knew I wanted to sell the food truck going into 2023, so I could allocate more time to Real Estate. I increased sales and was able to market and sell my business.

What did I learn about myself this year?

The common theme this year was all about being resilient. I learned that I can tackle any situation that presents itself. I worked long hours at the food truck, usually 50–60 hours a week. Then, I would come home and work on my other business. It was a challenge, but I got it all done and kept everyone (mostly) happy along the way.

What goals did I achieve, and which ones are still in progress?

Achieved

  • Getting the list price for my food truck
  • Built many personal and professional relationships
  • Joined a new Real Estate Brokerage that is a better fit for me and my business
  • Read 10 books
  • Paid off $30,000 in credit card debt

In Progress

  • Become a Delaware licensed Realtor
  • Build out my Blog and stay consistent
  • Build my online presence
  • Continue going to the gym
  • Increase skills on the guitar
  • Get engaged??

What do I need to let go of this year?

  • Perfection — I tend to strive for perfection in everything that I do. Sometimes being perfect at something isn’t always possible. When that happens, I get frustrated and don’t take action. That’s one of the reasons I created this blog. I am challenging myself to improve my writing skills even though I know I’m not the best writer.
  • Letting things be — I have a hard time letting things be. I often overanalyze situations. I worry about what will happen in the future and it creates unnecessary stress for me. Taking time to breathe and clear my mind through meditation, has helped me get better at worrying less.

How have I grown?

Personal

  • Increased my knowledge by reading books
  • Learned lots of new chords on the guitar ( A, C, D, Dm, E, Em, F, and G)
  • Cut out things that didn’t serve me (alcohol, negative people, bad ideas) so I can focus on my goals

Business

  • Continued my Real Estate Education by adding my Delaware License
  • Took a course on blogging and content creation
  • Improved my relationships and committed to providing value first, in every situation

Please let me know if you found these questions intriguing, or if you try them out yourself. Of course, answers to these questions won't be perfect. We are all a work in progress, and there's no shame in that.

Join me next week, I’ll be sharing my business planning tips for next year.

Thanks for reading!

For my local Philadelphia listings check out this link.

--

--

Harry Malapetsas
Saturday Sum Up

I’m Harry! 👋 🇬🇷🇺🇸I’m a real estate consultant with skills in digital marketing, SEO and blogging! Thanks for following me and checking out my content.