One Glass of Rosé

Bryanna Gary
Satyr Central
Published in
3 min readJan 23, 2020

by Rebecca Karpen

Group of people cheering with glasses of wine.
Photo by Kelsey Knight on Unsplash

My feet were heavy on the streets of D.C.

Carrying a phantom

In the soles of my feet.

Walked a couple miles,

Probably three or four,

Listened to an album that you liked,

Guilted into temple

That Yom Kippur.

My head was reeling as I rode back and forth,

Staring out the windows

Of the nighttime Megabus course.

Looking for an angel

To put my mind at ease,

Settling on you,

And the cloud-like curve of your cheeks.

Maybe I got reckless,

Or I was just bored.

I’m constantly running in circles,

Not really going towards

Anything,

I think of too many things

That I’d be better off to ignore.

Maybe I got reckless,

Or I was just bored.

I’m constantly running in circles,

Not really going towards

Anything,

I think of too many things

That I’d be better off to just ignore.

If my eyes were the color of that mailbox,

Think that you could love me then?

If I was a little bit older?

Had wider shoulders?

Was worlds less innocent?

If I didn’t lack faith in God

Unless I wanted something bad?

I won’t take back what I said

Because I meant every word of it.

I’ve never lied to you,

Maybe you would’ve preferred me to.

I’m not ashamed of anything I’ve ever felt

From the very start,

We both knew there was no way this could ever end well.

I’m a smart girl but I’d ignore my foresight,

I’ll change my schedule to fit your nights.

I’m much braver than you’ve ever been,

You think this is easy?

Putting myself in your hands

Just to be dropped over and over again?

The ground where you walk is sacred

Like the airport floor in Tel Aviv,

I know my logic is half-baked and

My friends were terrified of what you did to me.

This ain’t the Western Wall,

It’s just the tarmac,

But I bend too easily

To just go back.

I’ve already made the call,

There’s nothing anyone can say

That could change a thing

At all.

I would never kill you Goliath,

But God, you make me feel so small.

I’m proud of myself

For sticking up for myself this way.

Do you miss me?

I hope you do.

But you don’t miss me

Half as much as I miss you.

I wouldn’t take it back

Because I don’t regret it,

I was in love with you

And that’s brave and not pathetic.

You don’t scare me,

You can’t,

I’ve laughed in the face of things I hope you’ll never see

And never understand.

You don’t scare me,

You’re just a reminder of tragedy:

That I could build you a kingdom

But I still can’t make you love me.

I’m doing well,

I’m doing fine,

I act like you’re not on my mind.

I’m writing a lot,

So I guess that’s something at least.

I don’t write for you,

I only write for me.

I’m trying to put the past behind

And move beyond my misgivings.

I contend with ghosts

And they don’t want to share me with the living.

Think it’s time to sit with the living,

But you’re better company.

I’m doing well, I’m doing fine.

It’s not easy, it takes time.

I’m doing well, I’m doing fine.

I need to take my time

I need to take my time

I need to take my time

I need to take my time

I need to take my time

Need to take my time

I need to take my time

It’s taking so much time

I need to take my time

I need to take my time

I need to take my time

I’m gonna be just fine

Gonna be just fine

I can take my time.

My feet were heavy on the streets of D.C.

Carrying your phantom

In the soles of my feet.

Walked a couple miles,

Probably three or four,

Listened to an album that you liked,

One day I hope I can listen to it

When the thought of you

Doesn’t hurt me

Anymore.

Other Posts by Rebecca:

Ernest Hemingway In An 8am Psychology Lecture

Follow Rebecca:

Instagram

Facebook

Bandcamp

You can also find her on Spotify, Deezer, Youtube Music, Apple Music/ iTunes, Tidal, and Google Play.

--

--