Setting up a Raspberry Pi 4 as an development machine for your iPad Pro

Sau Sheong
sausheong’s space
18 min readDec 26, 2019

--

Years ago when I was just starting out in my career, a couple of friends and I came together with a new startup idea. The plan was to take a few days off from work, get a hotel room somewhere (co-working spaces were almost non-existent then) and start hacking out our new exciting prototype. However, we were a bit stuck because of our computers.

I had just started my job a couple of years then, and only had a self-assembled full tower computer at home but nothing portable. My better-funded friend had a laptop and said he could borrow another from someone else for me, while the other friend said he has his own portable computer.

We went about doing our own planning, and when the day came, we were pretty dumbfounded by my friend’s ‘portable computer’. I didn’t manage to take a picture — no one have a casual habit of carrying cameras then and anyone wanting to take a picture with his phone would be considered a raving lunatic (how do you stick a roll of film into a phone)?

His ‘portable computer’ was his mid-tower machine in a red supermarket shopping plastic bag, stuffed along with his mouse, full sized keyboard and power cables. His plan, as he explained after we picked our jaws off the floor, was to connect it to the TV in the hotel room.

My Raspberry Pi 4 dev machine

--

--