Six Gone, Moving on Eight

25 or 6 to 4?

Kyle Bubp
Savage Security Blog
3 min readNov 26, 2017

--

No matter how tired you are, you’ve gotta keep moving forward.

I’ve just returned from a strenuous, Sunday-morning hike to Chimney Tops to get some exercise in, clear my mind, and reflect. I’m currently listening to Christmas music and sipping on hot tea and just thought “Wow, Christmas already?” and then I thought “Oh… yeah… about that six months update.”

It’s pretty amazing to think that when we started Savage Security, it was just shortly after St. Patrick’s Day. April showers had yet to begin, and May flowers were just a future promise. We started with a simple idea: rely on our experience and research to cut through the noise and bring lasting and durable security solutions to anyone who would listen. It was a leap of faith, a bond of trust between two partners, and a firm belief in what we were doing was the right approach.

Since April 1, we’ve been spreading what I call “The Savage Gospel” across the U.S. and its territories, as well as globally (here’s looking at you Switzerland). As I look back, I realize that this is absolutely, without a doubt, the hardest I’ve ever worked at anything in my life. While building Savage, there hasn’t been one weekend I haven’t worked. Not one day I just put in the standard 8 hours, and the idea of a 40 hour work week seems like a vacation at this point. However, when you’re doing it for you, for a cause you believe in, none of it really seems like work. It’s surely exhausting, but it’s never felt like a chore.

I love our customers. Really. A lot of folks say “oh yeah, we love our customers” but love is reciprocal, and I definitely feel the love from them as well. From what I’ve seen, “do what you say you’ll do, shoot people straight, and treat people how you’d like to be treated” works. Do we turn every lead into a customer? Absolutely not (and anyone who tells you they do is full of it). But, I can assure you that every lead comes away from a Savage meeting with valuable information and an open communications channel to ask us questions on security strategy. We don’t nickel and dime here (you know, that whole thing about treating others how you’d like to be treated).

Lastly, and perhaps I should have mentioned this first but, the support I’ve gotten from my wife has really made this possible for me. She encouraged me to do this in the first place, has gone above and beyond to take over my household responsibilities when I was too tied up in work, and has not once even hinted at complaining about any of it. Without her, I’m sure my stress level would be much, much higher. Heck, without her, who knows if Savage Security would even exist.

Moving forward into the holidays, I look forward to time with family and friends, and hope all of you have a great and safe holiday season. I don’t see us slowing down anytime soon (and I know I say that in pretty much every blog, but it’s true). We’ve got some exciting news that I’m hoping to announce next year. Until then, Happy Holidays, and as always, if you need anything, you know how to reach us.

--

--

Kyle Bubp
Savage Security Blog

I ❤ defense. Improving security through research and practicality.