Meet Florian, our creative soul.

savedroid
Inside savedroid
Published in
5 min readJul 18, 2019

Meet Florian — the Creative Director at savedroid. Good designs, the power of ideas, and user centricity is what he believes in. In his former life, he studied Visual Communication and worked for leading advertising agencies. He’s the pro when it comes to integrated communication, with experience in design for major national and international brands in various industries. When not in office, you can find Flo in a museum trying to understand modern art, in his garage tampering with his motorbike or experimenting in the kitchen.

Hi Flo!

  • What do you do at savedroid?
  • I’m the Creative Director and I decide in which creative direction savedroid goes in terms of what the app looks like and what the marketing looks like. My main responsibilities are also how our brand appears in the media and assets for all kinds of advertising.
  • What do you like about your job?
  • Almost everything. I like coming up with new ideas and I’m very happy when everything works out the way I planned.
  • What do you like about savedroid?
  • I like that tasks are diverse and every day is different. Everybody here has the opportunity to impact the world and bring yourself, your ideas in. It’s also about the spirit of the team — we are here quite flexible and open. For example, if some processes need to be improved. We all have to opportunity to “form” this company. This could be the beginning of something really big for all of us.
  • What does your day as a Creative Director look like?
  • I have short-term and long-term tasks. Every day in the morning I decide what tasks I will tackle and what are the priorities. Sometimes it’s a bigger thing, like deciding in which direction the style of the app will go or planning the upcoming campaigns together with the marketing team, and sometimes I focus on creating single assets that we use for our social media channels.
  • How do you organize your time and set your priorities?
  • Basically, I rank every day my tasks according to the status of emergency and I attack the most urgent ones. Sometimes I need some days to think things through and to organize the ideas that come to my mind.
  • We have Denise on board in your creative team for quite some time, however, have you done everything on your own before?
  • Yes, but as you mentioned, now I’m happy to have Denise in my team and there will be soon another Visual Designer joining our creative team, so I’m very excited about the future projects. Resources are limited, therefore I pick my teammates very carefully.
  • What inspires you?
  • If I need inspiration, I usually go to a museum or to an exhibition. The objects there are rather completely different from what I create at savedroid, however, sometimes it’s not only about looking for a direct inspiration, but also about finding peace and a good place to think, to rest in my own thoughts. It happens very often to me that ideas also come when I’m repairing my motorcycle or cooking.
  • Can you name 3 people that inspire or inspired you?
  • Marcel Duchamp; Ray and Charles Eames; Frank O. Gehry. I named those artists because all three of them revolutionized the fields in which they were active, for example architecture.
  • What’s the hardest part of your work?
  • I’d say to have ideas and to fill this blank sheet of paper is the hardest part. If I have already a fixed idea, I set a plan and then everything is easy because it’s just literally hand-work. Having a good idea can take sometimes weeks and sometimes it pops up immediately in your mind.
  • Do you have a favorite project you worked on and why? It doesn’t necessarily have to be at savedroid, could be something you did in the past.
  • Yes, I had one very big project that I really enjoyed. It was creating a global advertising campaign for Credit Suisse. We did TV commercials, online advertising, press adds, so many multi-channels. We had the possibility to create the whole new picture of the brand and it was interesting, fun, diversified and very challenging at the same time. At the end, in such campaigns, every small detail counts and everything has to match together perfectly.
  • What makes you unique as a visual designer?
  • It’s hard to answer this question because I’m not trained as a visual designer or illustrator who would have his own style. As a Creative Director, my job is to come up with ideas and to coordinate the work of my team. I connect the dots.
  • What are your hobbies?
  • Obviously, art, but especially modern art. I also like to repair things — that’s one of my favorites. I like to give another life to objects. And cooking of course!
  • If you wouldn’t be a Creative Director, what other profession would you choose?
  • Hmmm, I’d be a cook.
  • What cuisine is your favorite then?
  • Actually, I don’t have any favorites. Very often I cook without the recipe. I definitely like to experiment with tastes.
  • Favorite brand and why?
  • I think it’s Apple. I bought my first Apple computer when I was very young with first earned money, and Apple was a niche company back then. I’ve always been thinking that they have a great concept which can be developed in multiple ways. They were also targeting graphic designers, especially at the beginning, with their hardware. I was one of a few people at my Uni who had this device, so I was able to do jobs others couldn’t.
  • If you would end up on the deserted island, what would be three things you’d take with yourself?
  • Things? Not people?
  • That depends on how you understand it.
  • Ok, if people, then we have a problem — I would have to choose which kid I leave behind *laughs*. I wouldn’t be able to decide, so things — Swiss pocket knife, a bottle and a poncho. During our survival training [a team building event that took place some months ago at savedroid] I learned that a poncho can be actually used in many different ways, so definitely poncho.

Your savedroid Team, cheers!

--

--