Good Friday

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?

Photo by Eyasu Etsub on Unsplash

They came to a place called Golgotha (which means “the place of the skull”). There they offered Jesus wine to drink, mixed with gall; but after tasting it, he refused to drink it. When they had crucified him, they divided up his clothes by casting lots. And sitting down, they kept watch over him there. Above his head they placed the written charge against him: this is Jesus, the King of the Jews.

From noon until three in the afternoon darkness came over all the land.About three in the afternoon Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eli, Eli,lema sabachthani?” (which means “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”).

And when Jesus had cried out again in a loud voice, he gave up his spirit. — Matthew 27

Listen to the song below and give attention to words or phrases from the verses above come back to you. Create a representation of your engagement with the text and song, then email a picture to hvlarr@bu.edu today to have it featured on this page below.

--

--