Teamwork!

Checo González
Sawyer Effect
Published in
4 min readNov 1, 2016

Teamwork can change your perspective, help you build a good atmosphere and be more productive as a team.

There’s a saying by one of the greatest sports coaches:

“Good teams become great ones when the members trust each other enough to surrender the me for we” — Phil Jackson

Since I was a kid I’ve been practicing sports, especially soccer but in general team sports. I was talented and at the beginning always wanted to win no matter what, I wanted to be the best, always looking for my best performance, looking to be the star with effort, sacrifice, and my talent, this was good but something important was missing, I needed to learn to work in a team.

At the beginning it was hard because I wanted to be the star but eventually I “took the road less traveled” and started trusting my team more, things began to change, I started to feel lighter, judging less and I started to support others more.

I would like to share with you some points that I learned through time and I’ve applied in my life.

1. Don’t Judge

Usually, we tend to judge fast and it is “normal”. It is the way we grow up: always judging, always trying to stick to a predefined recipe, but what if we don’t do that?. As Albert Einstein wrote:

“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” The question I have for you at this point of our journey together is, “What is your genius?”

I strongly believe in that quote and that a team is that, a group full of genius, all different, all sharing, all making mistakes but never judging that in a team is “oro molido” (Milled gold) as we say in México.

2. The importance of trust in a team

Let´s see the definition of trust:

“firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something”

And I would add confidence, it means that you are putting all those feelings on someone or something to add value to the team and the team returns the same to you, that´s how the trust works.

Successful teamwork is built on trust. Each member of the team must establish trust, cultivate trust through actions and words to maintain it. It is also good to be able to trust in the team members to make a commitment to the team and the goals, when the team sees that commitment the trust flows easily and the team starts to do great things.

3. Be in a positive mood

Being in a positive mood helps you to solve problems, there will always be difficulties or setbacks and if you are in a good mood would be easier to overcome those challenges. the communication with your team turning easy and in general everything becomes easier.

A Positive Mood Allows Your Brain to Think More Creatively, you are more open to new things, don’t take things personal, a positive mood lets you concentrate on the things that really matter.

4. Surround yourself with people better than you

“Surround yourself with people better than you” is a quote I heard all my life and nothing more certain than that, when your teammates or people are better than you and share their knowledge it’s a win-win because you have something to share with the team too and I’m pretty sure there will get something from you and finally the team has a big win.

Being humble and accept you always can learn something new was one of the reasons that I accepted to come to work at Sawyer effect, It´s full of talented people all of them better than me, with a lot of things to learn from them and the most important reason, they are terrific people.

5. Compassion

Everyone has made mistakes and I’m pretty sure everyone has committed mistakes before in his life but in this case in his professional career or even in a team, and it´s ok to make mistakes, every single mistake teaches you something.

“Sometimes you win, sometimes you learn but never lose”

Then, I,m going to give you some points why compassion is important in teamwork for me, I´m going to write some points that at least for me are the most important points to get a healthy work (This time I´m just going to name it).

. Offer guidance to a team member.

. spend time with your teammates outside the office.

. Lend a hand to someone who is under a tight task.

. Acknowledge employees strengths and positive attributes in front of others.

. Everyone has a bad moments, be nice with your team.

6. Have fun

In Sawyer effect, there is a saying and is the slogan of the company “Work as play” for me this slogan says everything, work like if you are enjoying if you are happy, you would be more creative, a better teammate and the team it’s going to thank you.

Don’t forget to take your time to be happy and have fun, always a smile is welcomed.

I almost forget it…

If one day you come to the company, you can be sure that there will be a great atmosphere and tacos of course.

--

--

Checo González
Sawyer Effect

🇲🇽 Mexicano, Tragón profesional, “Pateabalones”, por momentos“Triatlonista”, Disque Runner, programar no sé mucho, me gusta reír harto. Ahora en Sawyer effect