SayYesMore Team: Sam Billingham

Rima Patel
Say Yes More
Published in
3 min readMar 30, 2016

Lets find out a little more about Sam, who is all set to be a stellar adventurer and film maker, as well as the brave soul who only takes cold showers! Legend. :)

SB member of the redhead adventurers club

How did you find SayYesMore and The YesTribe?

I followed Dave and a few others on twitter, I kept looking at the join Dave page to try and make it to a camp out but was fully focussed on my exit strategy and never made it. When Yestival came around I knew I needed to go and be part of the community.

What were you doing in the 12 months before you found SayYesMore?

Before finding SYM I was already set on leaving London and finding my own path. During 2015 my focus was on working out, saving money and planning my exit all whilst still being a valuable member of the team at my day job. I worked at a Web Developer/Teacher at a small training company in London. I taught people on short 5 day courses how to code.

What does SayYesMore mean to you?

I came to SYM through The YesTribe. The tribe is a group of people who believe in carving their own way in life, who aren’t afraid to go against the status quo. People who believe life should be memorable.

Whats been your favourite Yes event/gathering to date?

Yestival

How did you become part of the Yes team?

I believe there is something strong in the Yes Tribe community and wanted to help steer things into a meaningful direction. When the opportunity arose to help strategise and shape a community I used my last pennies to book a flight from California ->Bali to help out.

What will you be focusing on over the coming 12 months for SayYesMore? What are your skills/strengths?

One of my aims for 2016 is to take photos and shoot video everyday. I was tasked with creating edits for the SYM trip to Bali but if you follow along with my journey you’ll also see a personal side of my adventures before, during and post SYM Bali.

I’m skilled in web technologies and full stack web development, but currently taking a little break to work on other projects and skills. As the tribe grows to multiple countries and continents the need for more customisations, websites and apps will be a strong possibility.

What are you most excited about in the coming 12 months and why?

Yestival will be next level and excited about new friends joining the community through the campouts and evening events.

What else are you up to outside of SayYesMore?

2016 is all about kick starting life on my own terms. I started creating videos to share my story while I figure everything out along the way. I have zero pennies but a positive outlook and a strong belief in making my own way in life. I’m hoping this puts me in a highly relatable bracket for others looking for people in a similar boat.

Whats the best way to keep in touch with you?

Message me on [Facebook](https://facebook.com/sambillingham1) or watch the story unfold on [Youtube](https://www.youtube.com/user/sambillie24)

--

--

Rima Patel
Say Yes More

Learning Design Consultant @PwC. Prev: Founder, Impactful. Fellow @Year Here, Program Leader @Remote Year , Community Manager @escapethecity.