Savannah College of Art and Design Graduation Ceremony

If you’re having a hard time with school canceling over COVID-19, it’s okay. I am too.

A graduating college student’s perspective of a global pandemic/infodemic

Sarah Doncals
Published in
4 min readMar 18, 2020

--

Disclaimer: This article is meant to give a graduating student’s perspective during this unpredictable time. Most of my peers and I are not at large risk from COVID-19. My thoughts are with those who are directly affected by the virus.

I am not upset with my university. As an immune-compromised student, I understand these decisions were made in my best interest. My friends/classmates and I have been talking about this for days and I want to make sure our thoughts are heard.

I know how rapidly this virus is spreading /affecting our lives; therefore, my opinions will likely change. These are my thoughts as of March 18, 2020.

Okay, some backstory. I am a Senior User Experience Design Student at the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD). I am set to graduate in May. On March 12th, the school sent an email announcing all classes for the Spring Quarter will be moved online and the graduation ceremony in May has been canceled.

Within 24 hours, I went from celebrating my last day of classes before spring break to my life being flipped upside down. I know my situation is not uncommon. Universities all over the world are in this difficult situation. If you were put in the same boat, this post is for you.

If you get anything from this article, it’s this; what you’re feeling is valid, don’t suppress it. I’ve caught myself thinking I’m not in the worst situation: I shouldn’t feel bad. Which the first part is true and I am grateful. That being said, you should not feel bad for feeling bad. This article is meant to bring to light what we’ve gone through in the past week. College students have gone through a lot emotionally while also being asked to distance themselves from their support groups physically.

Going to design school, it will be strange going to class online instead of the studios we made into our homes. There is a lot of uncertainty right now. We have been working for years to be where we are now. Clubs, sports, and events we have put our all into have been canceled on short notice. The class of 2020 had big plans for our last quarter of college that will never be brought to fruition. It is a large tradition at SCAD to show off work to family and friends during the final week of school. We won’t get that satisfaction.

I have made the best friends I have ever had at SCAD. This is the first place where I have ever felt like I have fit in. I had been mentally preparing to say goodbye to them, but not this soon. That timeline was cut from 3 months to days. I have been looking forward to my graduation ceremony since I’ve started college. Walking across a stage with them meant a lot to me. The class of 2020 won’t get that closure.

Okay, I’ve gotten all the sad stuff out. It’s easy to fall into a dark headspace, but I have found a few bright sides to this unfortunate situation.

It is a good learning opportunity to be flexible. This is a rare time where I have little to no control over what is going to happen. I am a type A, must have everything planned out person. This level of uncertainty is a good practice to be flexible.

Another positive is we now have the time to relax and reflect on the past 3.5 years (or however long you’ve been in school). We have been under pressure awhile. Self-care is something I’ve put on the back burner for years.

Where do we go from here? Again, make sure you are practicing self-care. Take this time to really take care of yourself. Deep clean your room, read that book that’s been on your shelf for 2 years. Make your best effort to get out of bed and get dressed every day. I have found it useful to keep using my Google Calendar to make sure my day doesn’t get away from me. I put in events like cleaning my bathroom to FaceTiming a friend I haven’t talked to in a while.

Stay calm, be smart & take care of yourselves. We’re going to get through this!

Here are some resources to help you out:

If you think COVID-19 has had a direct impact on your life, check out the CDC Website

If you are feeling anxious about the virus or life, in general, message the Crisis Text Hotline: text “hello” to 741741

If you do not feel safe in your living situation reach out to the National Domestic Violence Hotline: call 1–800–799–7233 or text “LOVEIS” to 22522

If you want to read some positive outcomes of quarantining/social distancing (yes, really) check out Quarantivity

--

--