3D art and AI: a conversation with Miro

Elisa
scantheworld
Published in
3 min readOct 7, 2022

This week we had a chat with Michele Ronchetti aka Miro. We spoke about the use of Scan The World’s digitised artefacts and AI.

He showed us his creations and explained more about his point of view on how AI is changing the arts.

Is AI changing the way we make art?

I think artificial intelligence can radically change our communication tools and the way we live.
I believe that this technology is capable of bringing a virtual universe to life and drastically changing the way we live.As digital photography did in the era of the birth of the web, I think AI and 3D can do the same thing.
In art I think it is able to give shape to ideas that man has never been able to be aware of.

AI and Arts in the future

AI I imagine could be the useful function to achieve what I call the “digital universe.”
I think utopianly that by combining 3D and artificial intelligence we could discover the universe within technology and break the current concept of space-time.

Miro and his art: exploring AI

I am not very active on social media, my creations are mostly unpublished, but I am continuing to create works to satisfy my need to express my artistic side.
Through artificial intelligence, I have created more than 3,000 new artworks.
I have found a new stimulus to bring the most abstract ideas in my head to life through this tool.

The concept behind Miro’s latest creations

I follow a philosophy I call “technological unconscious” with which I create my works, I start without a defined idea through the natural and curious use of software I give it form.
In artificial intelligence I found the means to give life to what I could not imagine.

Insights on his creative process

The process is purely experimental; I merge different workflows, join different programs, and exploit all artistic forms.
Lately I have been creating a new workflow by merging multiple artificial intelligence.
I plan to prepare an interactive exhibition leveraging new technological media that I am discovering in 2023.

Follow Miro’s creations here
Download Scan the World’s 3D models here and create

--

--

Elisa
scantheworld

Scan the World | Digitisation of cultural heritage