STW Conversations: Tiago Marinho

Elisa
scantheworld
Published in
3 min readMay 3, 2023

Today we had a chat with Tiago Marinho, one of our favouirite designers who recently included some of the Gliptotek’s 3D scans in his work.

It is with great pleasure that we introduce you to the brilliant artist behind this inspiring work.

We’d love to know more about your creative process! Where do you draw inspiration from for your work? Are there any particular movies, music, or artists that have influenced your style?

“I get inspiration from movies and music, mostly. It’s also impossible not to get inspired by other great artists on social media. Even if it’s not that obvious in my work, Art’s History is one of my biggest passions and inspirations.”

Could you walk us through your creative process? Do you have a specific routine that you follow, or does it vary depending on the project?

“I’ve always tried to be as intuitive as possible while creating my art. However, lately, I’ve been learning new techniques and software, while trying to be more methodical. My routine now is based around 3 softwares: Marvelous Designer, ZBrush and Cinema 4D.”

When did you start using 3D in your work? Has your experience with 3D changed your approach to creating art in any way?

“I started doing 3D in the last year of my degree, as an escape from the lack of purpose and motivation that I felt at the time.”

Looking ahead to the future, what are your goals as an artist? Do you have any particular skills or software that you’re hoping to master?

I want to keep improving and learning new software. I want to be able to reproduce my concepts with as much fidelity as possible. One of my immediate goals, as well, is to understand how I can effectively incorporate AI in my workflow. Long story short, I don’t want to fall behind.

--

--

Elisa
scantheworld

Scan the World | Digitisation of cultural heritage