The Screambox and Shudder Streaming Craze: a Necessary Evil, or a Netflix No-No?

Pierre Roustan
Scary Horror Stuff

--

Raise your hands if you’re one of the many horror aficionados out there seeing one of those Facebook or Google ads about a particular streaming service called “Screambox” or “Shudder.” (RAISES HAND) You’re not alone, and more power to you for being potentially one of many signing up for this account and getting the access to a virtually an unlimited source of media in the genre. But here’s the question I must ask:

Do We Really Need a Streaming Service Like Screambox or Shudder?

Let me put it in perspective for you: I’m a horror novelist. I love the genre. I live for it. I also have a Netflix account and Hulu account. And as tempting as it is to get an account with Screambox or Shudder, I have to be honest: I just haven’t gotten around to signing up for one.

Please understand, though, that this isn’t a downplay on the awesomeness of these two streaming services, especially given the fact that online streaming is now in this day and age the wave of the…

--

--