How I ended up deciding to pursue my under graduation in Computer Science Engineering

Faraaz Usmani
BlogsCord
Published in
3 min readApr 27, 2020

I was just an average kid at school who was trying hard to maintain a balance between his studies, sports, and other extracurricular activities. My school was affiliated to the ICSE board, and we were made thoroughly prepared for our 10th board examinations a month well in advance. The result being, I was able to score above 90% in those examinations. I was happy but I was in a bit of confusion as well as I had scored the highest in a subject for which I gave in a bare minimum effort. Computer it was. I scored 99 out of a possible 100 on the exam and it was only then when I realized that I had a natural flair for computer.

I opted for Science plus Computer after 10th and never had any problem with computers as a subject, though it wasn’t the same with the other subjects. I had to struggle a lot with the core science subjects but computers always gave me a comforting feeling.

It wasn’t just a subject for me anymore, it had become my friend. I would help my friends solve the basic Java programs that our course had to offer, and I felt really satisfied in doing so. I wasn’t sure about what career path I would choose once I give my 12th board examinations, but I knew one thing for sure, it had to be related to Computers. Not just because I was good at it but because I felt the happiest being surrounded by stuff related to computers and technology.

After my 12th boards, I decided to not leave my friend but to set out on a journey with it. 8 months later, here I am writing my very first blog to share my joy with all of you.

On the very first day of my college, we were introduced to the C programming language. Few of my classmates were already familiar with it but it was completely new to me as I was from a Java background. But I never felt intimidated by this new programming language and was able to quickly befriend it. By now I have participated in a few hackathons with C as my partner and we have been good together.

I look forward to meeting a lot of new people who would inspire me, motivate me and guide me on this journey and also I hope to make a ton of new friends(if you know what I mean) too, after all, they are the reason why I enjoy what I do so much.

--

--

Faraaz Usmani
BlogsCord

A B.Tech student who likes to write and help others with his writing. Aiming to making things easier for people.