How I got into Android Development.

Dhiransh Saxena
BlogsCord
Published in
5 min readApr 19, 2020

The coding in my life has number of ups and downs. But if these ups and downs were not there, I wouldn’t have been an Android Developer.

My coding life started from class 8th. I was a normal student who was taking Computer just as Subject till 7th Class. When I reached class 8th, C was introduced to us. In the starting I was really facing difficulties in Computer. So, I joined a Coaching Class for it, and this is where a turning point in my life came.

In the coaching class I met a teacher Mr. Faiz Ahmed Khan. He was doing his BCA degree at that time and was really into coding. His style of teaching was so good that everything started to look so easy. I also became one of his favorite student. He showed me one of his portfolio on which he was working at that time. I started looking as him as my Idol.

The Year end, I passed my 8th class with full marks in Computer Subject. But now computer was not only a Subject for me, it started becoming my passion. There was another guy in my Colony, Khyali Pant, who was into hardware stuff of computers. I started roaming with him and learn many things about hardware too.

When I reached in class 9th, Java was introduced to us. Java was something that I was looking for. But in 9th our teacher, Mrs. Neha Sharma, was not as that good as my previous coaching teacher. I was not getting that my passion for Java. But due to my liking for Computer and previous knowledge of C, I had a command on Java. Now, life started going on same way like it was going in the starting, I was taking Computer lightly again (Although I was scoring good marks).

I passed my 9th with good score in Computer. But now in 10th Programming became somewhat a little high level as some of the new topics came which I had never studied till then. Everything was going down, but as Alexander Graham Bell said, “When one door closes, another opens.”, then suddenly one of my school friend came to me and asked whether I can teach her Java, and it’s a little funny part (even see doesn’t knows till now), I with a half knowledge of Java said yes to her.

From that day to teach her, I started studying Java day and night. I again got a motivation for learning programming. I taught her something, she taught me something. We were becoming coders collaboratively. Then after a year, our board came. We both passed with 100 Marks in Computer Applications.

But after 10th see left the school and moved to another city. But now I was having real passion for java. I was understanding everything in it. After 2–3 Months of my 11th class, I got an opportunity to represent our school in a national level coding event (Comfest) which was going to held in Seth A. R. Jaipuria, Kanpur. I was really excited for it. But before that for checking our progress we were send to a State Level Event in Seth M.R. Jaipuria. I didn’t even reached the final round of it. I was depressed, I thought now my chance had gone. I won’t be able to represent my school in Comfest. But still, our leader believed on me and let me took part in the event.

Comfest was four day event in Kanpur. I was nervous, but then I saw her in the campus, She also came their to represent her school. Now, I forgot everything, I got my confidence back. I grabbed second prize in that competition for continuously two years.

After 12th, I joined Vellore Institute of Technology, and currently pursuing my B.Tech degree from there. When I reached the college, I wanted to became an ethical hacker. I joined many workshops for it. But didn’t got any interest in it. Then, I met a senior in my college who suggested me to do Android Development course as it based on Java only. I purchased a course of Android Development. I was really having fun in it. I completed that course in a short period of 3 Months within my semester. But I was not getting everything I wanted.

Now again, A twist came in the story. Abhi, one of my friend, called me to tell about his status of android development (We usually checked each other status, as we started together). Then, he told me about flutter and it’s cross platform feature. I was really impressed, like seriously I just have to make one single code and it will make apks for both Android and iOS.

Then at that night only, I installed flutter. I learned flutter in just a minimum of 1 month. It was December, Now I started working cloud data storage system. Till February, I completed the Whole Android Development of Flutter + Firebase. And now I have made a Covid-19 Tracker with real-time stats feature and website for our Start-up. I am currently working on 2–3 Projects which will be launching soon in 2–3 Months.

So, from life till now, I understood to never give up on something. If you are really working hard on it, It will surely be changing your life one day.

--

--