Where are they now? “I am currently enrolled at Northeastern University as a Health Science major.” — Kenny Mei

Tuan Ho
ScholarJet
Published in
3 min readFeb 19, 2018

You might not know about this, but in November 2016, we piloted an action-based scholarship called the Scholarship Run with Boston Road Runners.

This challenge involved a 5K run along side the Charles River and had many stations that challenged students for their creativity as well as their ability to answer SAT questions under pressure.

The stations were designed to slow down the participants and they were scored on the time of their completed run as well as their SAT performance.

Kenny Mei was a Senior in Josiah Quincy School. Not only did he get the fastest time, he also had the most SAT questions correct. I had the pleasure to interviewing him. Let’s find out where he is now!

Action For Education! (Please excuse our old logo.)

Could tell me what were your overall thoughts when you won the Scholarship Run Challenge?

I was very surprised when I heard my name being called as they announced the winner of the Scholarship Run. I did not expect to be the winner considering the fact that everyone else who had participated was athletic and intelligent.

Has the scholarship helped you in any way ?

Besides helping me with the textbooks and other needs, when thinking about the scholarship, I think about it helping me push myself to be more successful and give back to the community. Especially my high school that started it all and the places where I volunteer at most.

What a shining beacon of light.

Please tell us about your education journey at the moment. Where did you end up going to school? What is your major and how are you doing?

I am currently enrolled at Northeastern University as a Health Science major. Although the workload is overwhelming, I take my time to consider what my priorities are and make sure to take advantage of all the resources provided for me.

Can’t socialize he said.

Is college life different than you were expecting?

Coming in to college, like every incoming freshman, I didn’t know what to expect. I knew that there was a lot of work to do. That ended up being very true. I also realized that I can’t have my high school habits take control of me. I can’t slack off, procrastinate, and socialize with my friends all the time.

What do you want to do after college?

I’m not entirely sure at the moment since I’m only in my second semester of college. I definitely would want to stay on the track that would lead me into the medical field. I think this is a great opportunity because there are many medical professions I can look into and with all the well-known hospitals around in Boston, the opportunities are endless.

It was a cold and windy day.

If you were able to go back in time to talk to your high school self, what would you have told him?

Don’t slack off at times and finish all your work. Once you do that, you can have as much free time as you want. Be sure to get more involved within the community and participate and be engaged in extracurricular activities.

Want to see the recap of the run?

--

--

Tuan Ho
ScholarJet

CEO & Co-founder of ScholarJet. I talk about the future of education, diversity and inclusion, and entrepreneurship.