Connections Are Key

Bryson Sanders
Inglorious Bloggers
2 min readNov 11, 2015
Google Images, 2015

Business is all about connections. The more beneficial relationships that one can have can have a direct correlation with how successful they are in the business world. This is why internships are so important, networking within college clubs and programs is so important, and why being an overall respectable and likable person is so important.

As I have mentioned from before, my father is a huge influence to me and my career goals. I feel that with him being as successful as he is, I was born with the best business connection/relationship I can ask for. When your whole life is an internship, one can become surprisingly skilled at what they do.

But, unfortunately, having my father as my only business connection isn’t enough to reach my goals. Fortunately, I have met a lot of great people through him. Construction companies, bank managers, real estate agents, several government employees including inspectors, heads of welfare departments, zoning officials and the list goes on. All people that know me, or my dad on a first name basis. These relationships I believe are invaluable to my career and life goals.

Speaking of goals, it is a goal of mine to form quite a few more connections in the coming months and years. I plan to talk with the head of the Section 8 housing program for the county in which me and my father buy, sell and rent out homes. I hope to be able to establish a program that works with the local homeless shelters and temporary housing programs and provide those looking for permanent housing a place to live, taking advantage of the public housing program in the way that it should. Rather than housing those who choose not to work, receive a government check and do not aspire for a better way of life, why not house those who have went from being homeless, to the homeless shelter, to temporary housing and are looking for help finding a more permanent living situation?

Moral of the story, connections are key. Without connections none of what I wish, plan, or even hope of doing is possible. I plan on making connections through my undergrad and post-grad education, but I do not count on it. Making connections comes down to simply having the ability to reach out and the confidence in yourself to do so.

--

--