Where, When, Why, and How do you Learn?

Aubrey Bang-Guerin
Inglorious Bloggers
2 min readSep 23, 2015
blogloseit.com

The process of education and its environment has rapidly and tremendously changed throughout the years. The education system is no longer based on one single authority figure to herd an entire classroom of pupils and to be the sole provider of knowledge; the ability to learn from your peers and collaborate with other scholars is where it’s at now (insert jokes about trying too hard to be hip).

bestcollegesonline.com

I, myself, personally need a collaborative based environment to be able to learn to my best extent. Yes, I respect my teacher and I hold them to a higher regard, but when able to hear what my fellow classmates thought when reading the exact same article, it changes and strengthens my ideas. It helps me make connections that maybe I couldn’t necessarily make on my own.

graphite.org

The internet is another thing that is very key to my knowledge. Example: if I’m assigned an article or reading for class, I will almost always do the reading and then look for some summary or analysis of it. I know Sparknotes is frowned upon, and is seen as shortcutting, but it is an amazing source of insight if you don’t fully comprehend what you’re reading. Not everyone gets it on the first try, but to be successful in class one needs to understand what they’re learning; so who cares if they use help sites as long as they get it at the end of the day.

When it comes to education I need to feel like an equal who’s ideas are being heard.

--

--