Now What?…

Bryson Sanders
Inglorious Bloggers
3 min readDec 9, 2015
Image from Google Images.

After 12 weeks of reading, writing and calculating, the semester is finally coming to a sad, or not so sad, end. Being apart of a Whittier Scholars course has been the highlight of my academic half-year. A half-year that has flown by, probably for the better, but has ended rather quickly none the less. Blogging is one of the many activities that I began to do as a part of my academic workload, but is the only assignment that I actually enjoyed doing. This being the last blog post of the semester, it is only right that I describe my next step and how I will use what I learned from the WSP-101 to pursue my own learning.

What is my next step?:

My next step is to finish my academic career. In order to to start the career that I want and live the life that I want, I must first finish my college education. I plan on finishing the last 5 semesters of my four year degree then applying for graduate school. Business is my calling and I am more sure of that than I have ever been. Once I finish my education, I plan to start a career as well as buy, rent and sell houses. The ultimate goal is to retire at a young age, and the steps that I need to take are already in front of me.

How will I use my connections, skills, and questions to get myself there?:

First of all, I will use the connections I have with professors and other faculty to help me receive my degree. More importantly I will use the connections that I will make through internships and the connections that I currently have to advance my career and my business in the future. The skills that I attain and master in college will also help me reach my goals. Communication and critical thinking skills I feel will be the most important, especially while trying to separate myself in the business world. As far as the questions that will help me take my next steps in life, I have one that I will continuously ask throughout my academic career, my professional career and in life in general. What can I do to separate myself? This question is important because it drives one to become a better person, and constant improvement is the only way to reach success and happiness!

How has this class contributed to my ability to pursue my own learning?:

This class, as well as the Whittier Scholars Program in general, has opened my eyes to ideas and levels of thinking that I would have never experienced elsewhere. The idea of becoming a more liberally educated individual has consumed my traditional way of viewing learning and my college education. I now seek to learn to become a more enlightened and better prepared for the work-place. I pursue my own learning because I want to become smarter, I seek to become a more educated person and wish to reap the rewards of doing so. I believe that the more enlightened a person becomes, the easier it is to find happiness. And above all, including success, happiness is the most important goal in my life.

--

--