How to Memorize 100 New Words in Two Days

Trick your brain to memorize faster in these 3 steps

Firda Sahidi
Scholarships Junkie
2 min readSep 5, 2020

--

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

Learning new vocabulary is an essential skill, especially for people who want to pursue higher education or people who love to go overseas. I used to get so frustrated to learn new vocabulary. However, right now I’ve found a great strategy that allows me to remember 100 new words in just two days. So, without further ado, let’s get started.

Step #1: Find vocabulary bank

To begin with, you need to find vocabulary that you want to learn. You can type relevant keywords in search engines. For example, if you want to learn vocabulary to improve your TOEFL Score, that tries to type: “Vocabulary list for TOEFL”. Another example, if you want to learn new Japanese words, you can type: “Japanese Vocabulary List”, and so on.

Step #2: Find connected word

Try to find a connection between the meaning of the word you want to remember and the first thing you imagine when you look into the word itself. For example, I want to remember the word “Emerge”. When I see this word, I imagine it’s like “Emergency”. The actual meaning of “Emerge” is to move out/come out. The connection between them that I made is: When in an emergency, I need to move out of the cinema. I know that this sentence sounds absurd, however, it does helps me remember the meaning of the word easily.

Another Example:
Diminution
Word meaning: to make smaller
What I imagine: Diminition
Connected word: diMINItion, make it mini, mini=small

Copious
Word meaning: Abundant in supply
What I imagine: Copy-ous
Connected word: If I copy this paper 1000 times, then it will be abundant.

Step #3: Flashcard

After you’ve done the previous steps, you should make your flashcard to remember it. I recommend Quiztlet to make your flashcard because it’s very easy to use and it has smartphone apps. Insert the connected word as a description. Repeat your flashcard at least 3 times a day.

That’s it. I hope you find it useful. If you have other strategies to share, please drop it in the comment box below so it will help another to learn. Happy learning!

--

--

Firda Sahidi
Scholarships Junkie

Indonesian iOS Developer with 6+ years of professional experiences. Recent MSc Fintech Graduate from University of Edinburgh. Check out my list below!