Mother of two switches to a brand new career in tech after just 16 weeks of free training!

School of Code
School Of Code Blog
3 min readOct 28, 2022

Yasmin Ali shares her coding journey through the School of Code — a free intensive, software development Bootcamp that aims to break down barriers and get new and different people learning to code. No prior coding experience or knowledge is required before the course! (Their next intake is in Spring 2023, and applications close on 14th November 2022).

Yasmin Ali

“The School of Code helped me secure my first ever tech job. I now work as a DevOps Engineer at CyberOwl Ltd, a cybersecurity start-up and have been at my current job for over two years now.

I’m constantly growing and learning and using the problem-solving, technical and soft skills that I gained during my time on the Bootcamp — I don’t think my transition into tech would’ve been so seamless had I taken a different route.

My team and colleagues at CyberOwl are incredibly supportive, I enjoy the daily challenges of my job and the constant learning keeps me on my toes.

To this day, I still can’t believe I work in tech and get to solve real-world problems on a global scale from my laptop at home. Without exaggeration, the Bootcamp has been the best career decision I’ve ever made.”

Cohort 3.0 Pre-Covid

Yasmin took part in the School of Code’s 3rd Bootcamp, which started in early 2020. Covid-19 hit halfway through the third Bootcamp, which meant that they had to immediately learn the ins and outs of learning remotely.

Yasmin’s Remote Team on the Bootcamp

“The COVID-19 pandemic struck right in the middle of the course on week 8 which meant we had to quickly switch from in-person to remote learning and working.

As a mum of two young children, the sudden changes were incredibly challenging, but the School of Code were very accommodating and flexible to all the parents which took a lot of stress off our shoulders.

We learnt how to navigate and juggle childcare alongside remote learning/working and how to communicate effectively as a team all of which eased my transition into my current remote job.”

Cohort 3.0 Demo Day showcasing their final 4-week projects

School of Code takes people from absolute scratch all the way through to professional software developers in just 16 weeks.
Their cohorts are representative of the communities they come from, with a 50:50 gender split, an age range of 19–60 and demographics proportional to the local area. The course is 100% free to applicants, 4 months intensive, teaching a wide-ranging curriculum covering the fundamentals of Modern Web Development and javascript.

So far, School of Code has helped over 500 people including former teachers, musicians, stay-at-home parents, carers, artists, bakers, lawyers, retail staff, school leavers, personal trainers, beauticians, delivery drivers, security guards, fast food workers, refugees, unemployed, homeless and many more, all learn to code and change their career paths.

“I can’t thank the Bootcamp enough for providing me with such a fantastic opportunity to change careers, for being very supportive but also for all the tech and soft skills I picked up from my time there ensuring I was industry-ready.”

Video of Yasmin

Learn like Yasmin..

The School of Code has since launched their award-winning Bootcamps online and across the country. The classes are live, every weekday, from 9 am — 5 pm over zoom.

Applications are closing on November 14th for the next online Bootcamp starting in Spring 2023.
If you fancy a career change and want to learn the skills to become a job-ready software developer then apply here to kick-start your tech career!

--

--