Fact Checking/News Sharing Lab

Stacey Druss
School of the Possible
2 min readMay 25, 2018

The future I want to create is one where individuals feel valued, nurtured, and connected to the world around them. My focus is on providing a way for average individuals to opt into higher level thinking projects, based upon their individual talents and passions. In my utopian vision, there are no insignificant players.

My lab centers around exposing and acknowledging the “truth” which I believe is both the starting point for a healthy individual, and a healthy environment. On the surface my project will seek to provide a space where diverse people will work on creating a volunteer fact checking and information spreading network. More importantly though, it will serve as a hub where individuals from different social circuits will have an opportunity to connect, that does not presently exist. This is an important element in seeking solutions to social problems that demand an understanding of many perspectives. It will serve as a way to increase connections and the strength of the web. Making one connection at a time, is how I found my way here. I feel very different from most of the people here, yet I believe I have a valuable wisdom to offer as well. That is how I think I can help others, by creating a space for them here. In essence, I am looking to provide opportunities for “higher level professors” to interact with “kindergarten teachers”. Both groups have valuable wisdom that needs to be shared. Currently, I am doing this on a very small scale, having started my own group on Facebook a few weeks ago. Progress will be tracked by whether or not membership and engagement increases. Since spending most of the past week, focusing on the School of Possibilities, I have not given it much attention and growth has been slow, but constant. I think this school could provide the tools for “average” people like myself, to expand their positive impact, and to engage a population that has been slowly numbed to the most important aspects of being alive today. The lack of connection is what is destroying individuals, families and society, and is the condition that I am passionate about helping to ameliorate.

Marley, my lab assistant

--

--