It’s Time To Cut Off Toxic, People

No ‘friendship’ is worth jeopardizing someone’s wellbeing and mental health.

M. Olchawska
School Runs

--

I spend a lot of time and money to protect myself from the toxicity of others. For a while, I thought I was doing pretty well; I felt strong and protected. However, some time ago, I started noticing cracks in my protective armour. Once again, I got involved with new toxic individuals who, under the umbrella of friendship, began draining my energy.

It’s hard to cut people off under normal circumstances, but during the pandemic, it’s paramount for anyone’s mental health and stability. We all want to be kind, loving and giving, and try to support others, especially if they experience difficulties. But even kindness and support must have boundaries.

A couple of people in my life have been somewhat unsettling before the pandemic, but now with the pandemic, their personalities and issues blew up to a whole new level. One person, I considered a friend told me that I, together with my husband, was going to die, and that my children (respectively, 11 years and five months young) were the only ones to survive. Her advice was to work on leaving them with happy memories. What do you do with someone like that?

After pondering for a few days, I couldn’t possibly find any justification for having…

--

--

M. Olchawska
School Runs

Award-Winning Filmmaker | Sustainability & FI Writer | Screenwriter | Content Producer & Creator | magdaolchawska.com ecotopiauniverse.com | schoolruns.eu