Jess Brooks
Science and Innovation
1 min readAug 9, 2014

--

“Brain Scans Link Concern for Justice with Reason Not Emotion”

“According to Decety, one implication is that the search for justice and the moral missions of human rights organizations and others do not come primarily from sentimental motivations, as they are often portrayed. Instead, that drive may have more to do with sophisticated analysis and mental calculation.”
http://neurosciencenews.com/fmri-brain-justice-reason-emotion-901/

So, (a) we shouldn’t be considering emotion to be this totally bad thing which negates reason and truth — that argument has been used to oppress people (women, people of color, gay men…) who are viewed by society as being hyper-emotional;
but (b) this paper provides so much validation. Totally interpreting it to mean that those of us who think about social justice have more active cognition than others (will update after I actually read the paper… until then, I will bask in my self-serving assumptions)
(credit to AI)

FAQ

--

--

Jess Brooks
Science and Innovation

A collection blog of all the things I am reading and thinking about; OR, my attempt to answer my internal FAQs.