“What If Cancer Simply Can’t Be Cured?”

Jess Brooks
Science and Innovation
1 min readAug 30, 2014

“Which suggests that our cells’ ability to develop cancer is “an intrinsic property” that’s evolved at least since then — way, way, way before we rallied our forces to try to tackle it, said Thomas Bosch, an evolutionary biologist at Kiel University who led the study, published in Nature Communications in June.
To get ahead of cancer, he said, “you have to interfere with fundamental pathways. It’s a web of interactions,” he said. “It’s very difficult to do.” That’s why cancer “will probably never be completely eradicated.”

Yes. I don’t know why “cure for cancer campaigns” bother me so much, it’s probably some of the elitist scientist in me feeling superior and cranky because I happen to know something about molecular biology that other people don’t. It is also possibly because it’s promising poeple something unrealistic and misrepresenting cancer as though it is any other disease. As though this is a movie and someone can come up with a “serum” by the end that you can just drink and instantly be cured.

FAQ

--

--

Jess Brooks
Science and Innovation

A collection blog of all the things I am reading and thinking about; OR, my attempt to answer my internal FAQs.