In Memory

Tom Kane
Plainly Put
Published in
1 min readJan 24, 2024

A poem

Rescued by the childish hand of one I cannot see,
all delusions bring the same, it matters not to me.
I flee and take the slippery reins, to once again reclaim
that silent desolation now, as I recall her name.

It matters not how far we reach, all futures turn to grey,
surviving in a sea of doubt, and too far gone to say.
Those empty words, black hollow eyes that burn, despite the chill,
while cloud-like cobwebs in my brain obliterate my will.

I sleep with enemies by my side, a past you wouldn’t know,
my pain continues, now unheard, and daylight is my foe.
The wondrous pull of emptiness that nothing can destroy,
her innocence I used to love, now sadness brings me joy.

I gaze down at her photograph, and miss her every day,
but words pale in the eloquence of childish interplay.
Yesterday creates today, a promise for tomorrow.
To honour her, a tear drop falls, no longer tears of sorrow.

--

--

Tom Kane
Plainly Put

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium