Plainly Put

Love Is A Silver Rose

A poem

Tom Kane
Plainly Put

--

Your dawn grew long,
blooming into endless midday
where I picked each petal
that unfurled across
the landscape of your heart.

As dusk wandered in,
I traced the lingering rays
warm upon your cheeks,
reading between your laughter lines
stories of our shared enormity.

With the pale moon’s blessing
I memorized the valleys of you,
topographies shifting, eternal,
yet somehow soft stories rewritten
upon parchment-worn skin.

In the dim hours just before dawn
I held you tenderest, whispering
that the rising sun could never outshine
your beauty, blazing onward,
outburning the cosmos entire.

For I saw not merely your body
growing silver with experience,
rather I witnessed decade after decade
your soul becoming increasingly brilliant,
incomparable light made manifest.

--

--

Tom Kane
Plainly Put

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium