Forgotten Fungi, interview with Dr. Danny Haelewater

Valentina Ferro
Science & Art
Published in
11 min readApr 29, 2020

--

I have always considered mushrooms the colorful and uplifting sight to enjoy during a walk in the forest or the perfect ingredient for a winter risotto. But I had never stopped to think about how many different mushrooms and, more in general, how many fungi are out there. Nor had I ever thought how diverse and extraordinary they are. Until I had the opportunity to talk with Dr. Danny Haelewaters, a postdoctoral research assistant at Purdue University.

I interviewed Dr. Haelewaters for the “Draw My Science” series, and made illustrations inspired by our chat. And “oh boy” (as Danny would say), this chat changed my perspective of the amazing kingdom of fungi. Dr. Haelewaters is studying complex fungi-host associations, like the one occurring with fungi hosted by bat flies (flies that in their turn are parasites of bats), and understudied fungi.

Our chat filled me with a sense of wonder and adventure. Danny’s enthusiasm about his work and about field biology reminded me of one of my childhood heroes: I felt like interviewing a real-life Indiana Jones that studies forgotten fungi instead of lost archeological treasures.

If you want to learn more about the world of fungi, the life of a field mycologist and the challenges to become a successful researcher, read on the extract below or listen to the full

--

--

Valentina Ferro
Science & Art

Physicist, illustrator, and space pirate temporarily based on earth. Author of the sci-art book Inking Science: newoldscience.com/product/inking-science/