Sandrine Hajdukiewicz
4 min readDec 13, 2015

Eat Fast, We’ve Got Science to Explore!

It’s been four days since my fellow study tour participants and I arrived in the Bay Area. We’ve already gotten to know each other and seen so much that it feels like we’ve been here a month.

Each visit, each meeting, has brought me new ideas. And each new thing I have seen gets me excited to discover even more.

Today’s marathon: Behind-the-scenes at the Exploratorium, a peek inside the new swissnex space at Pier 17, a visit to Autodesk Gallery, a talk about science outreach at swissnex, and finally Story Collider in the evening.

“When do we eat?”I ask.

“Just grab some food and eat in 30 minutes!” is the response. That’s the American way, I guess. I’m definitely not used to eating so quickly, to grab something in the morning at a coffee shop and drink my tea on-the-go. But no problem, it’s a part of the experience, and it’s fun to completely change your habits.

Since I work in a small science center, the morning’s first visit, to the Exploratorium, is the most immediately relevant for me personally and professionally. There are hundreds of explore-for-yourself exhibits to help you to become an active learner. It’s huge, and there are too many things to touch and feel in just one day.

Even if my work is very similar to what people from the Exploratorium are doing, I’m impressed by all the side activities they organize. I will bring a lot of ideas back home to Switzerland, such as organizing night events and working with pupils to present our exhibits.

I also must admit to a bit jealously for their new facilities. Our guide, Ron Hipschman, shows us the Forum conference and event room where you can create special effects by playing with light and sound. Here, they can host shows, talks, movies, games, storytelling, workshops — this room is designed for all imaginable events.

In the afternoon we visit Autodesk Gallery. I didn’t expect much at first. But what a surprise!

This place is a way for the 3D software maker to showcase customer projects in an interactive way. As their website says, “Bringing together stories of exceptional design and engineering from across the globe, the Autodesk Gallery celebrates the creative process and shows how people are using new technology to imagine, design, and create a better world.”

Find simple solutions to change the world? What an awesome challenge!

There are many creative and crazy projects here from art, design, architecture, engineering, construction, automotive, transportation, life sciences, manufacturing, media, and entertainment.

Some the most breathtaking projects I saw:

Bacterial manufacturing
  • A ball of energy, Soccket. Play with this ball and generate power to recharge you mobile or to plug in a lamp.
“Soccket ball”
Self-assembly
The Smoke Dress

Seeing all these projects and exhibits that demonstrate to the public how cool and amazing science and technology can be, it inspired me. After all, science is present everywhere around us.

I have a special interest in projects linked to science and technology. Visiting this gallery made me realize that a lot of people in Switzerland are working on similar projects that can really change the world. And why not use these crazy projects to explain science and its applications?

I felt like I was in the future, maybe the future I can help enable in Switzerland, having fun and learning about engineering at the same time, what an awesome combo!