Sum of my parts

To make it in this world, you really have to sell yourself.

Zayyan Ahmed
Science Fiction Society
1 min readNov 22, 2013

--

It was a silly conundrum.

Nobody wanted the output of my mind.

After years of trying my craft of writing and tinkering and just generally attempting to self actualize, I was starting to realize that perhaps my way of thinking wasn’t going to resonate with the people.

Unfortunately, I racked up considerable debt in that pursuit. I faced the stark reality of living paycheck to paycheck, my nose against the grindstone. But this was the future, with opportunities abound. All it would take would be to hand over the reins to my T-1 class neural network of a brain for 5 years and X-1 class biological unit of a body for the same time to ‘work’ off my debt.

They wanted me, but at the same time wanted nothing to do with me.

“Would it be a stretch” I argued, “to simply regard the loans as an investment?” “Surely the whole is greater than the sum of its parts?”.

My debtors did not concur.

--

--