Twitch Leak: What Exactly is Source Code (and Why Is It Problems)

Carrie Kolar
Science For Life
Published in
3 min readOct 11, 2021
Image from PublicDomainPictures by Pixabay

Twenty minutes ago, a friend of mine posted the following on Discord:

“You all hear about the Twitch leak? EVERYTHING was compromised. Payment histories, encrypted passwords, SOURCE CODE.”

This sounded dramatic, so I repeated it to my husband. He went “source code? Shit.” Please note — he does not usually swear. Obviously, Things were Happening. There was just one problem.

I had no idea what source code was.

Objective: Learn The Interwebs

Confession time: I know the internet. I’m on it all the time. But I do not understand in the slightest how it actually works.

As I’ve been reading interesting things on Medium and as hacks, scams, leaks, and Problems with a capital P are popping up (how DARE Facebook go down, I could not access my cat memes for SIX HOURS), I’m starting an exploratory venture into All Things Interwebs and How They Work. And I am taking you lovely people with me.

Today’s topic occurs because a) it is a requirement that I understand dramatic events, and b) I am familiar with Twitch (I watch my favorite streamer’s videos on YouTube) and am therefore somewhat invested.

Let us begin.

What Is Source Code: Extreme Layperson Edition

After going through a respectable Google search and attempting to read a number of articles that were clearly written by people who knew what they were talking about and therefore incomprehensible to me, I stumbled upon a useful explanation in the site opensource.com at https://opensource.com/resources/what-open-source. According to this article:

“”Source code” is the part of software that most computer users don’t ever see; it’s the code computer programmers can manipulate to change how a piece of software — a “program” or “application” — works. Programmers who have access to a computer program’s source code can improve that program by adding features to it or fixing parts that don’t always work correctly.”

From what I gather (again, in extreme layperson terms), source code is like the schematics for the site/program/whatever. It lays out how the program or site is built.

Why This Is Problems

With the knowledge that source code is How The Site Is Built And Therefore Works, it becomes more readily apparent why having Twitch’s source code leaked is problems. It’s like hand-delivering the layout, guard routine, and passwords of a bank to actual bank robbers. It makes the site much more vulnerable.

Yoicks.

Further, it makes it much easier for competitors to figure out how you built your thing, and therefore replicate it or steal your ideas.

What To Do

From what I have learned in this quest for knowledge, the “holy shit” response to the source code leak was entirely justified. It is, in fact, Very Bad.

However, it does sound like the average Twitch user will be less affected by the leak than the company itself and the content creators. My favorite Twitch streamer, who goes by CohhCarnage (love him) made a video about the leak and recommended that all users turn on two-factor authentication for their accounts.

Two-factor authentication is the super annoying thing where to sign in to a site or account, you need to first type in your password and then (usually) a code that is sent to your phone or email to confirm that it is in fact you signing in. It is a very minor inconvenience that makes it take literal seconds longer to sign in to things, which is why I dislike it immensely because why are you making me wait. Buuuuut it’s absolutely the right and intelligent thing to do, which is why I bitch but use it anyway.

With these kind of events on the rise, using two-factor authentication for everything is probably the way to go, and I’m adding it to my every-increasing list of Ways to Be Slightly More Safe Online.

And also be slightly more annoyed. But thus, sadly, is life.

--

--

Carrie Kolar
Science For Life

Personal development, personal finance, and living your best life. Also cool new science and tech, because we live in the future.