By May be found at the following website: http://www.wiki/amazon.com., Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=2876144

Critical Review: The Lorax by Dr. Seuss

Now I Am a Book Critic (Poof)

--

I was shopping at Walmart today and passed by a Dr. Seuss book stand. There was another about 30 feet. And, then another. My my. Three such stands all standing grand.

That is the sort of lyricism in his writing. I picked up The Lorax (pictured above standing on a chopped down tree stump). I was just going to read a page or two, really. I mean it’s just a children’s book, right? But, right from the start, there’s a problem. A city is pictured with a road leading away from the city that is desolate and bleak.

A little boy, who is not named in the story, wants to find out what happened to the Lorax. So, he travels the desolate road to the lone house there that belongs to the Once-ler. The Once-ler is an old man, and you never see more of him than his arms.

The little boy has to pay the old man to hear of what happened to the Lorax. The fee is 15 cents, a nail, and an old snail shell. Once payment is made, the Once-ler tells the boy the tale of what happened to the Lorax.

You turn the page, and the dark somber tones of the pages before are now bursting with colors. It’s quite a nice shift in tone. I was duly impressed, and the effect is not lost on children, either, with their curios churios minds. Sorry, a little of the old…

--

--

Tony Berard
Science: Saving the Planet and Humanity Itself

I have lately been constructing arguments against God and the supernatural. I have proven that stuff doesn't exist with science equations. I aspire to be great.