Lessons in Cheesecake Science

Like science, baking a good cheesecake requires patience

Rosie Alderson, PhD
Science Soufflé

--

Photo by Kofi Okyere on Unsplash

Goodness, I love cheesecake. It’s got my favourite ingredient in it for a start, cheese, and the cheese comes in the form of a cake … What could be better?

Of course, not all cheesecakes are made equal. Some cheesecakes, with their fruity garnishes and lavish toppings, promise a great deal, but, disappoint the eater with a sloppy centre, or (even worse in my opinion) a dry, cracked texture resembling the Gobi Desert.

I profess that I am have been sloppy-cheesecake-baker myself; in my efforts to avoid the Gobi-Desert situation, I often under-baked my cheesecakes, underwhelming my guests with a gooey mess.

However, last Sunday, that all changed. Finally, I served a cheesecake that I was proud of. My signature cheesecake for family gatherings (lime, coconut and ginger) emerged from its chilled cling-film cocoon with no hint of sloppiness, and yet, its surface remained velvety and smooth — no Gobi Desert cracks to be seen. Whilst our gathering happily munched away on the various food offerings, including my cheesecake, I glowed with a sense of pride.

Baking a cheesecake with just the right cheesecakey texture has taken some trial and error, and of course, a good sprinkle of science.

--

--

Rosie Alderson, PhD
Science Soufflé

(Hungry) Science Nerd: educator, writer and general foodie.