#30DaysOfSciKuChallenge

A Handful of Science Haikus

Prompt: Nucleic Acids

Science & Soul
Published in
2 min readDec 29, 2020

--

Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Thanks for the tag, R. Rangan Ph.D.; I will give it a shot. Honestly, though, I’m just a scientist trying to get by in this creative world!

Got tagged for haikus
So I suppose I will try
Several short lines

Hmm, maybe we can do a little better with some inspiration from none other than our genetic makeup! This is the less common 3–7–3 just for fun.

Make us grow
Run the show, my DNA
Life’s master?

Hold up there — DNA! You’re nothing without the TRUE building blocks of life! Back to 5–7–7, why not:

The ribonucleic
Beginning of life we know
Spinoza’s green god

One more now for my favorite member of the nucleic acid family:

Nature’s basic code
The universe incarnate
Observing it all

And finally, no nucleic acid is an island:

You build me, ground up
Family of building blocks
All as one, balance

--

--

Cody James Howell PhD (Raiden)
Science & Soul

Dr. of Neuroscience | Cofounder of World Traveler’s Blog | Thru-hiker | Educator | Professional Investor | Digital Nomad | Student of Political History